zmień slajd zmień slajd zmień slajd zmień slajd zmień slajd zmień slajd
Hot 8 Brass Band - Vicennial: 20 Years Of The Hot 8 Brass Band [2LP]
brak zdjęcia produktu

Hot 8 Brass Band

Vicennial: 20 Years Of The Hot 8 Brass Band

2LP / Nowy


Zadaj pytanie dotyczące produktu

A1. What's My Name? (Rock With The Hot 8)
A2. Sexual Healing Feat. Frank Lil Frank Wricks & Frank Williams
A3. Get Up
B1. Royal Garden Blues
B2. Papa Was A Rolling Stone Feat. Edward Jackson, Frank Wricks, Lawrence Harvey, Shamarr Allen
B3. Rasta Funk
C1. Take It To The House
C2. It's Real Feat. Jerome Jones
D1. Just My Imagination
D2. We Shall Walk Through The Streets Of The City Feat. Herlin Riley, Ms Betty Williams, Arian Macklin
D3. New Orleans, After The City
Opis produktu

New Orleans' Hot 8 Brass Band toast their 20th Anniversary in typical roof-raising style, with a series of releases and live dates to celebrate this significant and incredibly hard-won milestone. At the centre is 'Vicennial - 20 Years Of The Hot 8 Brass Band', a special album mixing brand new tracks with newly recorded classic Hot 8 material, this jubilant LP finds the band on the form of their lives.

Across three albums - 2007's 'Rock With The Hot 8', 2012's Grammy-nominated 'The Life & Times Of ...' and 2013's 'Tombstone' - with a host of standout singles, including their iconic version of "Sexual Healing" alongside several other covers and equally impressive originals, Hot 8 Brass Band have told the story of their lives and their city like only they can.

One of the great New Orleans acts, Hot 8 have pushed on through a barely imaginable series of trials. The devastation of Hurricane Katrina, the separate deaths of four of their band members, and the horror of trumpeter Terrell "Burger" Batiste losing his legs in a car crash, conspired to test these men almost to breaking point. They honour their fallen friends and help to work towards the future of their community by putting their energies into positive projects at home as well as touring as much as they can. They march together and they play their music - a rambunctious yet elegant and super-tight mix of jazz, funk and hip hop - not merely as though, but because their lives depend on it.

The recording sessions for "Vicennial ..." saw Hot 8 Brass Band welcoming former members back into the studio, as well as featuring performances from family members of their fallen bandmates (from siblings through to grandparents), giving even more meaning and poignancy to each track, whether new or a revision of one of their classics. Across the album, the vibrant new recordings capture the spirit of a community and make a strong statement of the band's longevity, vitality and constant progress.

"Hot 8 has helped galvanise its community since 2005; captures both the edginess and transcendent beauty of life in its city" - The Wall Street Journal
"Hot 8 music is feel good music… music with a message. It's life music." - Hot 8 band leader, Bennie Pete
"Incendiary" -THE OBSERVER
"Irresistible" -MOJO
"Undiluted nourishment for the soul" - THE BIG ISSUE
"One of 2015's finest albums" - SONGLINES
"Peerless" - METRO
"Those guys have definitely got the horns" - LAUREN LAVERNE (BBC 6MUSIC)

Używamy ciasteczek w celu zapewnienia najwyższej jakości usług. OK