zmień slajd zmień slajd zmień slajd zmień slajd zmień slajd
VA - Curses pres. Next Wave Acid Punx - Part 2: Move Your Body [2LP]
brak zdjęcia produktu


Curses pres. Next Wave Acid Punx - Part 2: Move Your Body

2LP / Nowy

Eskimo / 541416512335

Wave / Electro


Zadaj pytanie dotyczące produktu

A1. Moderna & Theus Mago - Francesca (Wild At Heart)
A2. Zombies In Miami - El Wild
A3. Juan Maclean - She's Breaking Up (feat Fantastic Twins)
B1. Damon Jee & Darlyn Vlys - Kronos (Wild mix)
B2. Modular Project - Electronic Disco (Curses remix)
C1. Curses - Discipline
C2. Chinaski - Hart Und Kalt
C3. Cornelius Doctor - Life In Chains
D1. Shubostar - AYA
D2. Kendal & David Carretta - Pastaga
D3. Local Suicide & Skelesys - Faster Faster
Opis produktu

‘Next Wave Acid Punx’ is a 38 track journey across nearly 40 years of dark club music compiled and curated by Berlin-based Musician and DJ, Luca Venezia aka Curses. Inviting friends with a like-minded affection for an 80s rooted sound, and diving deep into his record collection, Curses has put together a three CD/double vinyl set that takes us from music by Colourbox and Suicide to EBM pioneers, Front 242 through to recent club hits from Zombies in Miami, and 12 brand new, totally exclusive tracks from the likes of Shubostar, Chinaski, and Curses himself.

Exploring the darker side of club music, ‘Next Wave Acid Punx’ traces decades of a musical passion and joins the dots between the EBM, New Beat, Italo and Acid House tracks of the 1980s to present music of today.

"Putting together a compilation like this is a strange experience. I’ve never been one to stay still too long. Whether as a musician, DJ, or producer I’d never wanted to tie myself down to one scene or one sound, always looking to move on before I’d maybe run a project completely dry. With an album you create a snapshot of who you are during that time in life, with a DJ set maybe just that night, but this felt more like trying to sum up a lifetime of musical experiences. A bit daunting! But in putting this comp together I did find a path that led from listening to FRONT 242 and Ministry cassettes in my bedroom when I was just 11, through to the music I make and play today.

What links these tracks together, is an attitude. It’s one I’ve been drawn to since I was a teenager, playing in punk bands, skateboarding in NYC, hanging out at CBGBs, and following Sonic Youth around, to eventually raving every weekend at underground drum & bass and electro nights.

As a teenager I’d dig through the bargain bins at shops like Vinyl Mania and Bleecker Bob’s where you’d find all these Freestyle, Italo and New Beat records. Straight away I zoned in on the “Dub” and “Extended Dance Mix” versions where the focus was on the drums and I could hear a link to bands I’d loved years before.

The first chapter takes early tracks from bands who came directly out of the punk and new wave scenes, that played a major role in forming my musical taste. The second chapter celebrates current music influenced by these early pioneers, while the third chapter comprises exclusive new music made for this compilation, with the passion for these genres in mind.

Some of these songs may have been written decades apart, but they all share an energy, a raw spirit, it’s those massive drums and gated snares that you hear on both Demolition Group’s ‘You Better Stay Alive’ from 1988, and Shubostar’s brand new track, ‘Aya’. This mix of electric and electronic sounds have been part of my make up ever since I learned to play guitar accompanied by a DR550 drum machine.

After leaving New York, I found a scene that helped me realize I could combine all my own past influences into my productions, song-writing and DJ sets. Discovering underground parties like Wrong Era, Cocktail d’Amore in Berlin, La dame Noir in Marseille, and of course A Love From Outer Space, made the pieces fall into place for me. This is the sound of a community I love, a passion without sacrifice, that I now want to share with you."- Luca Venezia (Berlin, February 2021)


Berlin-based Curses blends New Wave and Post-Punk with his ghostly vocals and guitars, punctuated with flashes of 80's EBM and New Beat.
Whether it's performing live at the late Andrew Weatherall's Convenanza Festival, or DJ’ing in the main room at Circoloco DC-10, Curses manages to somehow bring his punk and new wave attitude to all dance floors small and big. Always keeping true to his unique take on the darker side of disco.
The debut album from Curses, 'Romantic Fiction' dropped on Jennifer Cardini's Dischi Autunno imprint in October 2018, launching his live act which brings the guitars, vocals and live energy of the album to stage as a duo.
Curses has released a handful of EP's on labels such as Hoga Nord, Bordello A Parigi, Throne Of Blood, and his own imprint, Ombra International. A new album is scheduled for 2021 on Dischi Autunno, as well as curating a 3 Disc Compilation with Eskimo Recordings ('Next Wave Acid Punx'), showcasing the key musical influences that define the Curses sound.

Używamy ciasteczek w celu zapewnienia najwyższej jakości usług. OK